Extracurriculars

winnebago elementary school

Winnebago Elementary School understands that learning and engagement is necessary both inside and outside the classroom. Below are a list of extracurricular clubs and activities that we offer to students.

 
2017-18 President, Vice President, Treasurer & Secretary 

2017-18 President, Vice President, Treasurer & Secretary 

AMBASSADOR'S CLUB

Ambassador's Club is made up of fourth and fifth graders, four of whom are elected to the Ambassador's Club Board by their classmates. Members are leaders in our school and contribute in many ways, including planning school and community activities and fundraisers what else? The Ambassador's Club runs a school Book and Board Game Exchange and visit elder members of our community during the annual Halloween Parade.

sponsor

Deb Hauser: dhauser@d15.us
Lauren Scanlan: lscanlan@d15.us

 
Winnebago Band.jpg

Band and Orchestra

Students in 4th and 5th grade have the opportunity learn to play an instrument of their choice and participate in concerts with other students as members of the band or orchestra.

Sponsor

Jennifer Baker: jbaker@d15.us
Ian Nevins: inevens@d15.us
Ben Dahlke: bdahlke@d15.us

 

BATTLE OF THE BOOKS

Students team up to read and study a selection of books from the current Bluestem Award nomination list in preparation for three levels of competitions (building, district, and crosstown). Battle of the Books helps the students to build teamwork and close reading skills.

SPONSOR

Bette Zablocki: bzablocki@d15.us

 
19.JPG

BILINGUAL BOOK CLUB

Students and families have the opportunity to read together in their second and native language, building a bridge between home and school, and promoting reading in participants' second and native language. The Bilingual Book Club meets on Fridays after school.

SPONSOR

Elizabeth Pendergast: ependergast@d15.us

 

BOOK CLUB (THIRD GRADE)

Students meet once a week during their recess to read and discuss a book. Everyone reads the same book together and shares their questions and comments about the book as they read it.

SPONSOR:

Bette Zablocki: bzablocki@d15.us

 

Book Club (Fourth Grade)

Students meet once a week during their recess to read and discuss a book. Everyone reads the same book together and shares their questions and comments about the book as they read it.

Sponsor:

Bette Zablocki: bzablocki@d15.us

 
Winnebago Chorus.JPG

CHORUS

Chorus is available to all 3rd, 4th and 5th grade students.  They participate during mid-day PE.  There are two performances a year in which the students demonstrate their vocal capabilities.

SPONSOR: 

Heather Welch: hwelch@d15.us

 

INTRAMURALS

All girls and boys in grades 4th and 5th can participate in a non-competitive environment around different sport-like activities. Intramurals are held Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays before school and are supervised by the physical education teacher. 

Intramurals Permission Form and Schedule

SPONSOR

Cody Battaglia: cbattaglia@d15.us

 
Winnebago Patrol.jpg

Safety Patrol

The safety patrols help ensure student safety around the school.  They do this by assisting students in crossing the immediate street in front of Winnebago.  They escort and assist in students getting on and off the bus.  This option is available to 5th grade students first and then 4th grade students.

SPONSOR

Paul Sloan: psloan@d15.us

 
DSC00161.jpg

YOUNG AUTHORS

The Young Authors contest brings out the writer in every student! Students are encouraged to write and/or illustrate books alone or with a partner. Winners are selected by grade level, school, and genre to attend a special celebration and to get published in the school Young Authors book, which is housed in the Black Hawk library.

SPONSOR

Victoria Horberg-Olson: vhorberg@d15.us
Ruth Armstrong: rarmstrong@d15.us